Farley Mowat

Nature Lover

Born May 12, 1921, in Belleville, Ontario, Canada; son of Angus McGill (a librarian) and Helen Elizabeth (Thomson) Mowat; married Frances Thornhill, December 21, 1947 (marriage ended, 1959); married Claire Angel Wheeler (a writer), March, 1964; children: (first marriage) Robert Alexander, David Peter. Education: University of Toronto, B.A., 1949.
ADDRESSES: Home--Port Hope, Ontario, and Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. Office--c/o Key Porter Books Ltd., 70 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1R2, Canada.
CAREER: Author. Military service: Canadian Army Infantry, 1939-45; became captain.
AWARDS, HONOURS: President's Medal for best short story, University of Western Ontario, 1952, for "Eskimo Spring"; Anisfield-Wolfe Award for contribution to interracial relations, 1954, for People of the Deer; Governor General's Medal, 1957, and Book of the Year Award, Canadian Association of Children's Librarians, both for Lost in the Barrens; Canadian Women's Clubs Award, 1958, for The Dog Who Wouldn't Be; Hans Christian Andersen International Award, 1958; Boys' Clubs of America Junior Book Award, 1962, for Owls in the Family; National Association of Independent Schools Award, 1963, for jusvenile books; Hans Christian Andersen Honours List, 1965, for juvenile books; Canadian Centennial Medal, 1967; Stephen Leacock Medal for humor, 1970, and L'Etoile de la Mer Honours List, 1972, both for The Boat Who Wouldn't Float; D.Lit., Laurentian University, 1970; Vicky Metcalf Award, 1970; Mark Twain Award, 1971; Doctor of Law from Lethbridge University, 1973, University of Toronto, 1973, and University of Prince Edward Island, 1979; Curran Award, 1977, for "contributions to understanding wolves"; Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Medal, 1978; Knight of Mark Twain, 1980; Officer, Order of Canada, 1981; Doctor of Literature, University of Victoria, 1982, and Lakehead University, 1986; Author's Award, Foundation for the Advancement of Canadian Letters, 1985, for Sea of Slaughter; Book of the Year designation, Foundation for the Advancement of Canadian Letters, and named Author of the Year, Canadian Booksellers Association, both 1988, both for Virunga; Gemini Award for best documentary script, 1989, for The New North; Take Back the Nation Award, Council of Canadians, 1991.

  Read more